Yorkshire Schools Celebrate PE Success with Virtual Awards Ceremony


The Yorkshire PE Awards are a celebration of best practice in relation to the PE and School Sport Premium spend and were developed by Active Humber, North Yorkshire Sport and the Yorkshire Sport Foundation to showcase all the great work being undertaken in schools.

The aim of the PE and Sport Premium funding is to ensure all pupils leave primary school physically literate and with the knowledge, skills and motivation necessary to equip them for a healthy lifestyle and lifelong participation in physical activity and sport. Schools can choose how best to spend their monies, aiming to improve the quality of the PE and sport activities they offer their pupils and help schools to achieve self-sustaining improvement in the quality of PE, sport and physical activity in primary schools.

Despite the disruption of COVID-19 the judges were impressed with both the number and standard of nominations. Initially judging took place at a local level with local winners going through to the Yorkshire finals. We are delighted to announce that the local winners are as follows;

North Yorkshire Winners

• Whole School Improvement - Michael Syddall CofE VA School

• Innovation - Reeth Community Primary School

• Sustainability - Greatwood Community Primary School

• Active Schools - Selby Abbey CofE Primary School

Humber Winners

• Whole School Improvement - Bowmandale Primary School

• Innovation - Gillshill Primary School

• Sustainability - Nafferton Primary School

• Active Schools - Beverley St Nicholas Community Primary School

West Yorkshire Winners

• Sustainability – Warwick Road Primary School

• Active School – The Academy at St James

• Whole School Improvement – St Joseph's Catholic Primary School

• Innovation – Gawthorpe Community Academy

South Yorkshire Winners

• Whole School Improvement - E-Act Pathway Academy

• Innovation - Darton Primary School

• Sustainability - Woodseats Primary School

• Active Schools - Laithes Primary School

Tune in on Tuesday October 13th to discover the final winners in each category

Tune into our YouTube channel on October 13th at 11:30am where we will be revealing the winners in each category.